Alysoun

“Bytuene Mershe ant Aueril (Between March and April)
When spray biginneth to springe, (When branches begin to blossom)
The lytel foul hath hire wyl The little bird hath her wish
On liyre lud to synge. In her warbling to sing.
Ich libbe in loue longinge, I live in love-longing,
For semlokest of all thynge. For the most beautiful of all things.
He may me blisse bringe: She may bring me bliss:
Icham in hire baundoun. I am in her power.

Crocheting gets to take second fiddle to this middle english lyric until after Easter. *pout* Somehow I have got to put together a five page paper on what this song means, which means brushing up on my poetry terms. How appropriate that it is a spring song.🙂

Leave a Reply

