Fast knitting

In my economics class last night we were working on a problem that dealt with time spent making an item. The examples were: Jill can sew a dress in 3 hours and knit a blanket in 2 hours, Sarah can sew a dress in 6 hours and knit a blanket in 3 hours. Instead of solving the problem I wanted to speak up and tell them that knitting or crocheting a blanket typically takes longer than 2 or 3 hours, so the problem was flawed (a great way to avoid figuring out opportunity cost!). Of course, I would look like a super old fart if I did that. Taking a freshman level course (my first college didn’t require economics for my degree) is truly making me feel old and I’m not that much older than they are.

Julie and Donna have given me enough of a boost that I hope to start my first pair of socks this weekend. I’m going to try to sneak off to study this weekend and leave A with the girls. I won’t be heading for the library without a little stress-reliever/break item in the form of a sock pattern, yarn and a hook!

Leave a Reply

