109998487264037757

I have finally posted my holiday “to make” list for my family (see the new box on the right). If I don’t get most of them done by the Friday after Thanksgiving, I know I’ll end up buying a gift instead of making one. Why by Thanksgiving? The three weeks after that I’ll be frantically finishing up a research paper, an article abstract, and praying that I’ve got enough of an understanding of statistics to succeed in my Political Methodology class. After that, I’ll be ready for a relaxing Christmas week with the visiting in-laws.

Look what I found on eBay!

It’s a vintage silver plated broach with beautiful crystals. I bought it to wear with my shawl, but it doesn’t go with it very well, so I spend most of my time just looking at it, which is fine because I think it’s beautiful.

I found out something amazing today while talking to my mother in law. It all has to do with a little ticket. This little ticket that is now framed and sitting on my entertainment center. (He lets me buy yarn, I let him frame strange things.)

Over Labor Day weekend, my husband placed a $20 bet on the Astros to win the World Series. The odds were 60-to-1. Andy’s placed bets on his teams to win before, most notably his Steelers, who had 100-to-1 odds to win the Super Bowl in 2002 and came pretty close, but not as close as the Astros came this year to the World Series. So, during the playoffs, we talked to friends and family about the ticket and then we’d have fun figuring out what to do with the potential $1,200 payoff. Andy’s mom was in Spain during most of October and has only been back home a week. Apparently, word of this ticket has spread through her small town. (Andy’s best friends had told their parents who had told their friends, etc. is one possibility. His dad telling his friends is another.) Not only does most of the town know that Andy has bought this ticket, but the odds have increased dramatically. That little framed memento could have brought Andy $5,000 according to today’s gossip. How amazing that one lost bet could become so famous in such a small town.

Leave a Reply

