Clothing isn’t so hard… maybe

I’ve started my first Christmas present. It may be the only one at the rate that I’ve started making items, but I can live with that. I like shopping too much and I like it when family members beg for handmade items. heh I like saying that if they want a shawl or a pair of furry flip flops, come visit one evening and we’ll have a crochet lesson so that they can make their own. I should be nicer and make them pretty items to show off, but I don’t want to be the only one working with yarn at a family function. The men get their ball games, why can’t the women sit around and crochet during the game??

Back to the present. I’m making the scalloped pullover from last year’s Woman’s Day Quick & Easy Knitting & Crochet. It’s coming along quite well and I don’t mind working with such a teeny hook (E) because it really makes for a pretty fabric. Here’s a sneak peek –

I finished my Missa’s Clutch! Isn’t it pretty on my oh-so-wild tablecloth?? (No, it really should be shown on a better background, but I have yarn thrown across my coffee table and I don’t really want to clean it off until I absolutely have to, like tomorrow.)

I did run out of the chestnut yarn and I do blame myself for not checking gauge, but I really like the size it turned out. I ordered another ball of the chestnut from knitpixie to finish it and plan to use the extra to make a coordinating coin purse. hmmmm.. Perhaps I’ll make it tonight!

My thoughts and prayers go out to those who are suffering due to Katrina. Many, many families are finding their way to the Houston area and I plan on volunteering my time at local shelters next week after I take care of some prior obligations this weekend.

My father-in-law is coming into town tomorrow and we’re heading up to my grandparents’ to attend a bluegrass festival here. My grandparents are friends with the owners of the park and live on some acreage next door. I met one of my best friends there many years ago and she’ll be there with her two little girls this weekend.

Have a wonderful Labor Day weekend!

Leave a Reply

