Thursday Thirteen

Thirteen Things to do at the Texas State Fair

(plus a few that I can’t wait to see next year)

 

1.  Corny Dog – I’ve heard that the corn dog was invented at the Texas State Fair.  Not sure if it’s true, but it was the best tasting corn dog that I’ve ever eaten.

2.  Creative Arts Building, Part 1– How could I pass up this year’s creative entries?  There were amazing pieces of art and I loved how much effort went into displaying the items into different themes and color categories (i.e.  red & green Christmas items together).

3.  Creative Arts Building, Part 2 – Celebrity (local to the area) chef cooking demonstrations – yum! 

4.  Children’s Barnyard – Sheep, goats, and emus oh my!

5.  Freebies/Samples – I’m particularly fond of the samples handed out at the Burts Bees tent. 

6.  Ferris Wheel – It’s reportedly the largest ferris wheel in the western hemisphere

7.  Cotton Bowl – If we had timed it better, I could be there this weekend for the UT/OU game.  Go ‘Horns!

8.  Arts & Crafts Pavilion – the mother-in-law was tired and the husband just ignored my pleas. lol

9.  Concerts – I know I saw them just a month ago, but I would love to see Cross Canadian Ragweed again.  (there are other good bands scheduled too)

10.  Chevrolet Test Drive – you can test drive every car in the Chevy line up.  Again, under different circumstances I would have test drove a car

11.  Fried Coca Cola – No, I didn’t try this, but I was tempted.

12.  Little Hands on the Farm  – This was so much fun for the girls!  They were able to find out about the different activities on a farm. 

13.  Food – I have never seen so much variety of food!  I didn’t get to try anything other than a corn dog, but there is next year…..

Tagged:

3 thoughts on “Thursday Thirteen

  1. Tug October 5, 2006 at 8:49 pm Reply

    LOVE fair corn dogs…and elephant ears…all the food…..never HEARD of fried coke???

    Happy TT!

  2. amy October 5, 2006 at 8:59 pm Reply

    I want to go!

  3. my 2 cents October 5, 2006 at 9:09 pm Reply

    A great list! I am from Texas too. Those are some fun things to do at the State Fair!
    I love the corndogs, and I remember volunteering several yrs ago at the Little Hands On the Farm…. it was fun helping w/ all the little kids. I never knew about the free samples at the Burt’s Bee’s place, sounds like I missed out… I love their products. I never knew you could test drive the cars either, guess I missed out on that, too. I do enjoy looking at all the new cars though.

    I almost wanted to go to the TX State Fair this weekend but decided to stay closer to home and save money…. once I added it up, I figured I would be spending between $30.00 and $40.00 at the fair, (plus gas money) and that’s money I could save for my Europe trip next year.. and every penny counts for me right now.

Leave a Reply

