Coasters Squared

I love to crochet.  Really, really love it even.  (It is Valentine’s Day so I might as well be extra loving. ha!)  I’m beginning to think that I love combining crochet with knit too.  It’s a new love which means that it might not withstand my short attention span, but right now it’s bright, cheery, and fun.  Look what I made!!  In 20 minutes no less, including all end weaving!!  I love square coasters, so I call these Coasters Squared (I’ve only made two so far.)

Coasters Squared

Details:

1 ball of Lion Brand Wool Ease Thick & Quick or something of that sort in White Fisherman. (much, much less than 1 ball, more like a few yards per coaster)

10 mm (Size 15) knitting needles

10.5 mm (Size K) crochet hook

yarn needle, scissors

Cast on ten (10) stitches.

Body

Using your needles, work in stockinette stitch (knit 1 row, purl 1 row) until piece measures about 4″. 

There is no need to work knit stitches at the beginning and end of the row because the edging will keep it from curling.

Edging

Using crochet hook, slip stitch into corner of piece, ch 1, sc. 

sc across, evenly spacing your stitches (about 7 stitches) until you reach the next corner, 3 sc in next corner.  Continue to work in sc across the edge, 3 sc in corner until you reach your first corner.  2 sc in your first corner, join to 1st sc.  Finish off.

Copyright by Tiffany Roots, 2007.

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Coasters Squared

  1. Renee February 24, 2007 at 10:27 am Reply

    Cool, thanks for the pattern🙂 I need some of these

Leave a Reply

