Kitchens Need Chickens

All kitchens should have at least one chicken potholder.  You leave it on display and when someone comes in and asks what that thing is, you tell them it’s a chicken.  They’ll look at you like you’ve lost your mind and you just smile sweetly.  It works particularly well with 14 year old cousins.

The actual potholder is a little more blue than it looks in this photo.  My photo editing abilities stink at midnight.  I couldn’t find any red cotton so I used spare wool.

I’m making the girls granny square placemats for the kitchen island.  I may make more for our dining table, but for now, there will be only two.  I’m having to sneak in crochet moments as it is thanks to it being “banned” for the moment in my house until Sunday, post-packing day.

Again, the lighting is bad.  I’ll take better photos in better lighting after they’re in place in their new home.

Stats:

Traditional Granny Square with Reverse SC edging.

Hook:  Size “I”, Susan Bates

Materials:  Lion Brand Cotton Ease, 1 ball Taupe, 1 ball Berry

Tagged:

4 thoughts on “Kitchens Need Chickens

  1. Deneen August 9, 2007 at 5:59 pm Reply

    Neat-O

  2. Julie August 10, 2007 at 2:01 am Reply

    Love the chicken (no surprise there! – go make more!!) and really love the placemats too. How fun!

  3. V. August 13, 2007 at 11:25 pm Reply

    Love that chicken – my kitchen seriously needs one.
    ~V. http://www.newchrochet.com

  4. Mei August 14, 2007 at 8:02 am Reply

    I know of someone who has a chick stuff toy as a pet. Yes, that’s right. A toy pet LOL…I think she will love the chicken potholder. Thanks for sharing…

Leave a Reply

