My Home in my Home

When I first saw my new home last Monday, the 13th, having let Andy pick out it on his very own, I realized that after almost 8 years of marriage, my husband really has come to know me rather well.  The kitchen, while full of what could be considered wasted space, is truly my space.  It was the first room to be unpacked, and is still the spot where you find me the most during the day time.  I took a couple of photos, but it only shows you about a quarter of the room.  Keep in mind that my breakfast and computer areas are also in the kitchen. 

The other quarter of the kitchen has more cabinets, and a bar that opens into the living room, plus a pantry.  The other half of the room holds the dining table, computer desk, china hutch, wine table, and other goodies.  (Notice Andy’s laptop says, “Andy is awesome”.  That’s courtesy of Samantha about a year ago.  Every time he opens it, he gives me a dirty look.  I didn’t put it there!  Plus, an attorney should know how to change his own background photo.)

Being such a large room, you would think that if you were a little girl, you wouldn’t be (a) sitting two feet from your mom on the tile floor building a tower of magnets and bolts or (b) marching around (a) saying, “Hup, two three four” repeatedly.  Just saying.  You would be walking out of the door you’re sitting in front of to roll down the cool hill in the backyard, maybe playing in your room with all of your toys that have been boxed up for a few weeks, or even just chasing the cats around the house, which seems to be a preferred pastime lately.  Nope.  It’s like (b) is holding guard over (a), who is building some super-secret government project.  Apparently, they’re trying to build something before the “boys” do.  Are their boys hiding around the house??  This situation is getting more interesting….

More pictures!  I have FOUR built-in bookshelves in the hallway (one is further down the hallway).  I was hoping to save one for yarn/crochet books, but I spread out everything.  If I do some rearranging, I might be able to manage it, but for now, I have a nook in our bedroom closet with shelves, drawers, and baskets.


Living room with boxes still unpacked)


Three of four bookshelves.

My back is killing me today.  It hurts all over and it makes me want to hunt down some stretching exercises to loosen up whatever’s not happy with me.  I’m off to sit and relax on my couch for a bit.  I think a few episodes of Psych On Demand is on the menu.  Either that or start on my sock for the Recipe for Sock-cess group at Ravelry.  First, I have to hang up Laura’s shelves in her room before she goes psycho on me.  Her snow globe collection doesn’t appreciate being boxed up.  Ack.  No rest for the back any time soon.  I think a detour to the medicine cabinet is priority number one.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Tagged:

5 thoughts on “My Home in my Home

  1. Deneen August 22, 2007 at 12:01 am Reply

    What a nice, airy, bright kitchen-it’ll all fall into place. Take a break!

  2. sheryl August 22, 2007 at 1:08 am Reply

    Built in book shelves and a big kitchen – I’m jealous! Hubby did a great job!

  3. Julie August 22, 2007 at 11:07 am Reply

    Ooh Tiff, that looks to be a lovely house! Andy IS awesome!! ;o)

  4. samantha August 23, 2007 at 12:43 am Reply

    UMM dude i dont remember putting andy is awesome on there

    i think you know me well anough to know i would prolly put a insult on there

    HMMMMM

    how do you explain yourself

  5. John November 18, 2007 at 10:51 pm Reply

    Hi, there!..7824627251228abd4a202dd5519ee204

Leave a Reply

