The End of the Internet and Spiderweb Progress

I’ve been a fan of Bloglines since I first heard of it a few years ago, but after having trouble getting Blogger blog updates yet again, I thought I’d play around with Google Reader.  I imported my bloglines subscriptions, which transferred my categories along with the subscriptions, so I was ready to go.  Except..  It’s hard to break a habit.  I have Bloglines in my bookmark toolbar on Firefox and it’s just too easy to push that button instead of logging into the Reader.  THEN, I discovered the toys.  Google Reader has cool toys.  You can add bookmarklets for Subscribe.. (same as for Bloglines) along with the greatest button ever – Next.  Next takes you to the blogs that have updated.  Instead of reading updates in the reader, you get to go to the sites (encouraging comment leaving, which is good for me), and each time you click “Next”, it’s a surprise.  The best part – when you reach the end of your updated subscriptions, you get a page that says,

“Congratulations, you’ve reached the End of the Internet.”

Yes, I’m a dork.  I’ve admitted it before, but seeing that page cracks me up.  It tells me that I’ve spent too much time on the computer today and should get to something productive.  BUT, if you subscribe to enough blogs, and Flickr Photo Pools, the End of the Internet never lasts long.  You just have to test it by hitting the Next button one more time.

I finally took photos of my Spiderweb Cardigan progress.  I’m almost done with the Left Front, which I’ve been working on after taking this picture, and then can finish the sleeves over the weekend to get it shipped off.  I love this yarn.  And I love how quickly the pattern stitches work up.  I could easily fall in love with cardigans if I were a cardigan person.  Being that I’ve only ever had bulky, boring just-for-work cardigans, a nice, lacy crocheted cardigan could change everything.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Tagged:

4 thoughts on “The End of the Internet and Spiderweb Progress

  1. Sheryl August 23, 2007 at 8:13 pm Reply

    It is gorgeous! I can hardly wait. The big question is – cash or yarn? : )

  2. Tiffany August 23, 2007 at 8:32 pm Reply

    That’s the easiest question EVER – YARN!!🙂

  3. Deneen August 23, 2007 at 11:12 pm Reply

    I love the cardi-

    I use both Bloglines and Googl Reader, but haven;t played with the toys on Reader yet-now I will (old habits are hard to give up)

  4. Julie August 23, 2007 at 11:38 pm Reply

    I’ve got Google Reader set up too, I think. I didn’t play too much and went back to Bloglines… maybe I’ll try it again. And your spiderweb cardi is gorgeous! I’m totally being a baby about figuring out my size for it. I’m all ready to make it otherwise. Wimp that I am!

Leave a Reply

