Weekly planning

This is the first time in my life that I’ve actually needed to keep a weekly planner of all of my activities. When I was working, I never had the need. I didn’t have appointments or lunches with clients to keep track of. Now, I’m volunteering in the mornings at the girls’ school (trying to average twice a week), I’m their Room Moms, I’m their Girl Scout Troop Leader (which I’m very excited about!), and they’re taking swim lessons. I’ve got an interview Monday evening at JC Penney for a holiday job to help out with a little extra Christmas money. I’ve just finished my paperwork to start after-school tutoring. It sounds like a lot to me, but it’s all working out well so far. I’ll probably not be as convinced of everything running smoothly after I start working a few evenings a week too. As far as that, I’m just excited to get out of the house in the evenings and make a little extra spending money.

Now that I’m finally over the nasty flu from last week that managed to keep me feeling miserable through this week, I have a few projects that I finished in September to share. First, I made hats for the girls. Laura’s is in worsted weight (Lion Brand Wool Ease) and Maddie’s is in fingering weight (Lion Brand Babysoft). I hope to post the pattern free in a few days, as soon as I find my notes.

 

Hey! That’s not Laura! She’s still at school so you get me as a model.🙂

 

I also made a stash basket from a Bernat pattern. I haven’t woven in the ends yet and I need to buy starch to finish it out. It’s going to be an organizer for my bills more than a stash basket, but for now it’s home to the yarn for Laura’s Griffyndor scarf I’m working on.

 

 

Now, please avert your eyes if you would rather not see knitting, but I’m excited about what I’ve accomplished. It’s my first sock!! It’s the training sock from Knitty. I used Red Heart Sport and Size 3 needles. I’m going to weave in the ends and put it with my Christmas ornaments. It’s cute although not perfect.

 

 

 Now, just as exciting – I started a pair of Monkey socks!  I’m just on the first bit of ribbing because I’m not working exclusively on it (got that scarf to finish), but no troubles with 5 dpn’s so far.  I’m impressed with the twisted ribbing, I’m not just particularly impressed with knitting in to the back loop.  It takes too much time.

 

 

  It’s back to cleaning the house for me.  Mom & J are coming up this weekend for a visit.  The State Fair is on the schedule for tomorrow so hopefully I’ll have a bunch of cool pictures to share.  Have a wonderful weekend!

Tagged: , , ,

6 thoughts on “Weekly planning

  1. Deneen October 12, 2007 at 6:56 pm Reply

    I love the hats-your pattern????

    I have a calendar just for the volunteer stuff for school, PTA, my husband’s campaign-crazy-most days are booked and double booked too-it’s easier on the days I work.

    Glad you feel better.

  2. Tracie October 12, 2007 at 6:57 pm Reply

    I love the hats! And I hate to admit it, but that little knitted sock is cute.🙂

  3. Julie October 13, 2007 at 1:12 am Reply

    I’m just heading over (after this) to check out http://www.rememberthemilk.com/ – what does that say about me? ;o)

    That hats are gorgeous! If I ever finish making socks (watch out, you won’t be able to stop either) I will crochet a bunch of cute hats too, just for fun. But first, really, it’s socks. Cause I’m addicted. I totally think you can dodge the addiction factor (apparently I’m delusional too). Good luck! ;o)

  4. sheryl October 15, 2007 at 2:06 pm Reply

    Congratulations on your sock! I have become hopelessly hooked on socks again. I am will finish a pair today then I’ll be off to knit a pair for my 4 yr old granddaughter. Keep up the good work!

  5. Nicole Case October 21, 2007 at 12:50 am Reply

    I saw your “Think Pink Scarf” on crochetime.com and am looking for tips.
    My sister is loosing her hair to chemo treatments and though I’ve only crocheted one afghan in my life I got ambitious and decided to try crocheting her a hat. I bought Red Hart Kiss yarn because I thought the fuzziness would fill in the spaces between to hid her scalp. Now I feel I’m in over my head as I’m finding it difficult to keep track of which loop I should take amongst the mess of soft threads.
    Please email me if you have any tips for working with “eyelash” yarn. It’s very possible I’m simply making my crochet tighter than I should with the bulky yarn. I would love some suggestions though. Either on eyelash yarn or easy patterns for tightly crocheted hats.
    *side note: My grandmother was the one who crocheted but I was too young at the time to learn. Another of my sisters did learn from grandma, but she does things a little different b/c grandma was right-handed and this sister is left-handed. I am right-handed so it was very strange trying to learn crocheting from someone who had to flip things around to learn it 15 years ago and now has to reverse it back to instruct me.

  6. Tiff Crochets » Blog Archive » Brownie January 29, 2008 at 8:58 pm Reply

    […] a post-in-progress. I want to show off Laura’s hat, completed many months ago, modeled by me here, along with Maddie’s hat yet-to-be published, but I also wanted to show off the first stage […]

Leave a Reply

