Still a Weekend Farmer

I’m still alive.  I took a part-time job, started volunteering at the girls’ school, volunteered to be their Girl Scout troop leader, and joined a local mom’s group since we’ve moved here to the DFW area.  Needless to say, I’ve been a little preoccupied.  I took a little mini-break from anything crafty while catching up on my neglected reading habit, but I’m making an effort to get back into crocheting and knitting socks.  I’ve decided that I’m just going to be a sock knitter.  There are too many beautiful tempting sock patterns out there and too many overall crochet patterns that catch my interest.

For my birthday (which is today, but I went shopping Friday), I visited my LYS for the first time and bought Amigurumi by  Elisabeth Doherty along with a gorgeous Madelinetosh sock yarn.  I’ll show it off with a photo tomorrow when I can take said photo in decent light.  I also picked up a few beautiful plates at Crate & Barrel for food service (I want to practice “plating”.), and a set of doily dessert plates.  I don’t know if I could take a photo to do the plates justice, but I may try.

For some reason, being 32 feels so much older than 31, but I can’t figure out why.  I’ve just been feeling rather lost over the past few weeks.  Hopefully, it will pass soon because I miss my happy self.  I feel unaccomplished, which is silly because I have a beautiful family, but that feeling still exists.

Anyhoo, my birthday goal is to work on my writing, which means writing more on here, so hopefully, there will be a little bit more of a purpose here soon.  Happy Veteran’s Day and have a wonderful week!

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Still a Weekend Farmer

  1. Julie November 12, 2007 at 11:55 am Reply

    Happy Birthday Tiff… I do hope you had a lovely day and weekend, for all that you don’t like that number forced upon you now. I do know the feeling. I didn’t have a problem with 32. Well, not for me, but when my sister turned 32 I didn’t like it one bit. Go figure. 37 is looming on the horizon and I am not happy. I wasn’t happy with 36, either. Maybe we should start a club? ;o)

    Can’t wait to see your sock yarn!

  2. Maven November 26, 2007 at 6:01 pm Reply

    Have you tried amigurumi yet? I haven’t. My newest book I got was Mr. Funky’s Super Wonderful. It’s a great little book. I hope to make something amigurumi for Xmas for one of my nieces. Stay tuned:)

Leave a Reply

