Samantha Scarf and the Stash Pantry

Mindless projects are my favorite to work on while in the midst of a TV show marathon. I started to work on a Samantha Scarf while watching Season 2 of Rome and quickly finished 8 of the 17 (or less – details on that to come) flower motifs, which means that I could finish the crocheting tonight. I think this will be a Christmas present, I just can’t decide which female family member will receive it. I guess I just gave away the fact that I have done about 3% of my Christmas shopping for the year. Much to my mother’s chagrin, I am perfectly able to complete my shopping in one day, including ordering online and in-person shopping, while still managing to pick up gifts that fit the recipient. What can I say? I’m talented. Pshaw!

Back to the scarf. The pattern is from Get Hooked, edited by Kim Werker, and the pattern is by me. The colors I used in the book are much more teen-friendly than fits my personality (Tiffany – it is not for you! Take it off your neck right now!), so I opted for a different combination in this scarf.

Details:

Pattern: Samantha Scarf by Tiffany Roots (me!), from Get Hooked, edited by Kim Werker

Yarn:
1 skein Lion Brand Wool Ease Chunky in Black, 1 skein Bernat Softee Chunky in Natural

Hook:
“M/13”, 9.00 mm crochet hook

The pattern initially calls for two skeins of Lion Brand Wool Ease, or a comparable worsted weight yarn along with a “J” hook. I like the texture combination of the Wool Ease Chunky, an acrylic/wool blend with the Softee Chunky, an interestingly twisted acrylic. Would I have chosen these two yarns if they had not been sitting on my yarn stash shelf? Most likely not. I wanted to use the color combination and if I had a little extra cash plus were making this for myself, I would have headed straight for my LYS. Instead, I raided my stash and I am so glad that I did. I can see the benefits of a stash moratorium, but I think I would be more attracted to a “stash pantry”. What is a stash pantry?

I do my best keep my kitchen pantry stocked with essentials, just in case one week we need to shave the grocery budget, or I am just not in the mood to go to the store. I keep plenty of spice combinations, tomatoes, stocks/broths, pastas, beans, baking essentials, and a wide variety of frozen vegetables and dairy products. I may use some of these in my food menu for the week, but if I choose to go a different route with dinner, I don’t feel bad about keeping some items in my pantry. A stash pantry would serve a similar purpose.

An ideal stash pantry would keep essentials on hand, including cottons, acrylics, wools, and sock yarns (new obsession), in a variety of sizes and colors without being overwhelming both to space and money constraints. When your yarn budget is low and you cannot fight the craving to start a new project, look in your stash pantry. Before you head out to buy more yarn, check your stash pantry to see if you have something useful available to use instead. Maybe your cotton stash is running low and you know that your local craft store is having a sale on Sugar N’Cream. Take advantage and stock up on a few colors. Utilizing your stash pantry the same way you would your kitchen pantry might lead to a better understanding of just what is lurking inside your stash. It might save you from running out to buy yarn for a last minute baby blanket only to discover when you return home that the same colors and yarn were stuffed at the bottom of a bin, long since forgotten.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Tagged: ,

One thought on “Samantha Scarf and the Stash Pantry

  1. Melissa December 20, 2007 at 12:42 am Reply

    Stash pantry I love it. This past week I’ve been finding all my bags of Peaches & Cream and Sugar & Cream kitchen cotton. I started putting them all in the same Rubbermaid bucket. It’s full! My friend freaked when she saw it. She couldn’t believe I had so much. I told her every time I go to the store I pick up one or two balls. The Peaches & Cream is so inexpensive, then I buy the Sugar & Cream on sale every chance I get. I figure at least I can never say I’m bored because the kitchen cotton isn’t limited to just dish cloths so I should always have something to do.

    I have never attempted to knit a pair of socks but I have enough sock yarn for four pairs and I’m still stocking up. Yes, I have a serious problem.

Leave a Reply

