Best Cake Ever

I am glad the holiday frenzy is over. I’ve spent the last week detoxing from running around like mad during the past month. I should have dug out my oriental spice tea long before I did today, but at least I did lounge around in my favorite slippers (they massage!) all week when I didn’t have to leave the house.

awesome slippers

I’ve been working on a pair of fingerless mitts with yarn I picked up on our vacation in Montana. I have pictures to show, but I’ve got a fire-breathing Maddie requesting a few minutes to register her Webkinz bear. She also knows I’m talking about her, using her newly developing reading skills.

For my wedding shower those many years (eight) ago, the theme was for every invitee to bring a recipe that would be placed into my first recipe book.� One of these recipes was for a “Better Than S*x” cake and believe me, it almost is.� I think it’s the large amount of chocolate that makes my toes curl.� Anyhoo, I was gifted with a large amount of Nordicware bundt pans for Christmas from my brother and his significant other so I used the tree pan to make the now aptly named by the girls, The Best Cake Ever:

Best Ever Cake

The Best Cake Ever (as named by the Roots girls)

Ingredients:

1 box butter or yellow cake mix

1 pkg (3 3/4 oz) instant vanilla pudding

8 oz. sour cream

1/2 c. vegetable oil

1/2 c. water

3 eggs

6 oz. chocolate chips

2 oz. German sweet chocolate squares, grated

1/2 c. nuts (I use pecans)

Small amount of powdered sugar

  1. Mix all of the ingredients except the chocolate and nuts until fluffy, about 2 minutes on medium with electric mixer.
  2. Add the chocolate chips, grated chocolate, and the nuts.
  3. Pour mix into greased and floured bundt pan.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.� Cool, remove from pan, and dust with powdered sugar.� Enjoy!

I baked this on New Year’s Day and intended to post the next day. I’m a little less than a week behind, so not too bad! I cooked this, along with a delicious batch of chicken & dumplings, while lounging around in my massaging house slippers, and squeezing in a little reading from an amazing book that I got for Christmas.

My mother-in-law went to the Montana Festival of the Book this last fall and was able to have James Lee Burke‘s newest short story compilation, Jesus out to Sea, autographed for me.  See?

Jesus out to Sea

I’m a huge fan of James Lee Burke’s Dave Robicheaux novels set in New Orleans and New Iberia, Louisiana, but he also rights about Montana, being a resident of Missoula also, and I had recommended him to my mother-in-law, so I was blown away when I opened this package on Christmas day.  One of his novels was turned into a movie, Heaven’s Prisoners, starring Alec Baldwin as Dave Robicheaux in what I think is one of his best roles while also being a very decent movie.  They’ve just finished up In the Electric Mist, with Tommy Lee Jones as Dave, which kind of makes me leary, but might work.  It’s scheduled to be released some time this year.

The fire-breathing Maddie is back, so I’ve got to go.  We’re going to watch The Bourne Ultimatum tonight, which means I can get in a few hours on my mitts, which I’m knitting so they’re taking a lot longer for me than I like, but I’ve got one finished so I can’t turn back now.  Maddie likes them so much that she wants a pair for herself.  Her pair will be crocheted.

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “Best Cake Ever

  1. Miss Sassy January 7, 2008 at 4:04 pm Reply

    I love your bundt cake pan! That recipe looks great. I will definitely try it. I have posted a few bundt cake recipes on my blog. If you are ever in the mood for an all chocolate one, this recipe will do it and then some:

    http://sassypriscilla.typepad.com/sassy_priscillas_craft/2007/09/is-there-such-t.html

  2. Kelly January 9, 2008 at 3:38 pm Reply

    I’ve always wanted to purchase that pan through JCP, but was always leary. Now I think I will do it since it has been proved! Great recipe… I lovvvvvve pecans. If I weren’t married I’d marry one! LOL

  3. Melissa January 10, 2008 at 3:03 pm Reply

    Tiff–James Lee Burke is one of my favorite writers! I’ve been a fan of his for years. What a great MIL you have. While I liked Heaven’s Prisoners I’m not sure I ever really bought Alec Baldwin as Dave. I guess I couldn’t get past him being a NY and I am so very southern, LOL. Anyway, I think Tommy Lee Jones might make a good Dave. Although, he might fit the role of Cletus better….hope I’m remembering Dave’s partner’s name. I haven’t read one his books in a while. I do love Tommy Lee Jones in just about everything–don’t even get me started on Lonesome Dove. One of my all time favorite movies.

  4. Tiffany January 12, 2008 at 4:36 am Reply

    Melissa,
    I think Tommy Lee Jones would make a better Cletus. I hope that the movie comes out soon in the US so that we can see it!

Leave a Reply

