View of the cold white north

I made a little slide show on Photobucket of a few of our pictures from Montana so as not to overwhelm the post with photos. If you want descriptions, just leave comments saying stuff like, “Tiffany? What the heck is that little brown blur in the snow?”

 

While in Montana, my awesome sister-in-law gave me a gift certificate to Stix, located in Bozeman, Montana. It was intended as a “get out of stuffed house free” card for the two of us, who both knit and crochet. Unfortunately, it didn’t work out as planned, so I went with my mother-in-law, aunt-in-law, and the girls. This probably turned out to be a good thing because if I had gone into the store with her, I think I would have begged to stay for hours. I was in heaven the instant I walked through the door. The store is in the basement just off the main drag through town so it’s not easy to spot, but being in the basement must be a blessing because of all of the space they have at their fingertips. See? It’s a cute little entrance though:

Stix in Bozeman, MT

They even have a play room for kids. It’s just off the book section and has a small selection of toys to keep kids entertained while you play. I have thought about boxing up some of the girls’ old toys and shipping it to the store to add to the room, just because if they are going to be donated, the idea of donating to a room where kids can play while their moms or dads play with yarn sounds like the perfect choice.

I wanted to work on something small and knitted, so I picked up a few balls of Trendsetter Dune yarn and a set of size 10 dpns to make myself a set of fuzzy fingerless mittens. Now that they’re finished, I’ll probably never, ever, ever wear them, but they’re still going into my jacket pocket for those days that I’m out and feel a little spunky.

Speaking of fingerless mitts, I finished Bron‘s Victorian Shell Mitts (Ravelry link – Victorian Mitts) last night while watching 3:10 to Yuma. What a great movie! I’m working on a review to post, just because my mind is brimming with things I want to say about it, but it’s the historian in me that wants to analyze it and not the movie watcher, so look out for that soon.

Back to the mitts! I used Vanna’s Choice from Lion Brand, which is kind of scratchy at the moment so I’ll drop them in the wash to soften them up.

Victorian Shell Mitts

3 thoughts on “View of the cold white north

  1. Kelly January 12, 2008 at 2:43 pm Reply

    Great slide show! Thanks for sharing. How cool to catch a wolf on camera… wow! You should crop it, and blow it up. I love the snow, so these pics really brightened my day.

    BTW… your the second person that mentioned that Vanna’s yarn is scratchy. I hope it does soften up. Nice mitts though, and pretty color choice. I have to get on a pair before it is summer!!

  2. Kate January 13, 2008 at 11:18 am Reply

    You seem to be a very good photographer, and I really like the pink mitts. (I’m working my way through the CLF ring, if you’re wondering how I got here.)

  3. miecze-repliki September 7, 2008 at 5:15 pm Reply

    Ciekawa strona, bede ja odwiedzal czesciej, pozdro

Leave a Reply

