Amazing Wall Hanging

My camera phone does not do Laura’s quilt justice, but here is a temporary photo of her amazing work until I get my digital camera back on Friday.

Laura's quilt

From Laura’s description when she gave it to us, this is a kaleidoscope quilt pattern.  She chose all of the fabric pieces, either from her grandmother’s stash or from the local quilt store.  Her grandmother cut the pieces, but all of the sewing was done by Laura, with the exception of the backing, I believe.  This was her first sewing project ever.  I’ve put off any sewing projects with her at my house until I have a better grasp at what I’m doing myself, but after this project, I think she can teach me a thing or two!  The top pink square incorporates leftover fabric from a night gown made for Laura by the same grandmother for last Christmas.

I found the purse handle I want for my Meadow Handbag (I cheated and used my Ravelry search box, so it’s a Ravelry link), but I’m waiting until payday on Monday so that I can buy at least three handles for future purses.  Here’s the purse, with buttons temporarily attached to see how they look, and the awesome pink flamingo fabric I found.

Meadow Handbag

3 thoughts on “Amazing Wall Hanging

  1. Deneen June 24, 2008 at 6:47 pm Reply

    The quilt is awesome!

  2. Julie June 24, 2008 at 7:04 pm Reply

    That quilt is beautiful. She definitely has skills beyond mine. I hope she’s very proud of what she created because she should be!

    I can’t wait to see your finished purse. I’m trying hard to ignore it (when it comes to my own project list, that is) so I expect to want to make one as soon as you finish it completely. lol

  3. Cindy June 27, 2008 at 7:12 am Reply

    Wow! That is great for a first time sewing project! Beautiful, too! I’m like Julie….I can’t look at your purse too long, because I don’t need to add any more to my list of “want to do’s” right now!

Leave a Reply

