Travelling Fool

I have true, honest-to-goodness work to show off.  I had things to show off weeks ago, uploaded photos and everything, then promptly… forgot.  I had wonderful intentions of posting while out of town again and well… forgot again.  So now I present to you…..   crochet!

My brownie

My brownie

I made myself a Brownie hat using lovely Cascade Luna yarn, a wonderful cotton perfect for the summer.  Guess how many times I’ve been able to wear it?  Once – for this photo.  I gave it to Laura.  Laura has lost two Brownies.  If she loses this one, she’ll be making her own.  This is my favorite hat pattern ever.  I know I designed it and I am biased, but I promise you, if you make it, you’ll love how easy and quick it is too.🙂

Let’s see what else I’ve been working on….

Have you seen Giovanna’s Cardi at Lion Brand?  I fell in love with the pattern instantly, but before making one, I called over both girls to see if they liked it.  The squeals told me YES! so I let them pick out colors on Sunday (was that yesterday??) and started Laura’s last night while watching the rerun of the Sarah Connor Chronicles pilot.

(Side note:  If you missed this great series last year, give it a chance, particularly if you are a fan of the Terminator movies.  I was very impressed with what they managed to accomplish with the strike of last year.   This scene via You Tube utilizing When the Man Comes Around by Johnny Cash from the season finale blew my mind. I don’t think the link will give away any spoilers, but consider this a warning just in case.)

Back to the cardi.  What a quick, easy project!  I say that as my next row begins the yoke.  I may change my mind.  I’m using Vanna’s Choice in Purple for Laura’s and Purple Mist for Maddie’s.  They both wanted purple.  I think they’re secretly hoping that if it is truly a quick project, their mom will make one in their favorite color of the week.

Laura's cardi

Laura's cardi

Socks!  Have you seen the Origami Turkish Sock pattern by Deborah Burger?  I intended to work on these during our trip to Denver last week and did not.  I did get altitude sickness somewhere in Rocky Mountain National Park and do not want to experience it ever again.  Back to the socks.  I am using Madeline Tosh sock yarn in Frida.  I love this color.  It’s so bright and beautiful.  I love using Madelinetosh yarn.  Now I can save up for next year’s DFW Fiber Fest and buy more.

Origami Socks

Origami Socks

That’s it for now. I’m off to start watching The Tudors which finally arrived today from my library reserve list.  Seriously check out your public library to see if they have DVDs available.  I’ve cancelled Netflix and utilize my library.  It’s awesome.  The wait is longer but it’s free.

5 thoughts on “Travelling Fool

  1. rebecca August 12, 2008 at 2:00 am Reply

    that is a cutie cardi! i’m sure my E will want one if she sees it. IF which won’t be anytime soon, i’m too busy to add even one more thing! anyway – how in the world are you keeping up with your blogging while traveling? i can barely keep up and i’m not moving!
    i should be heading your way in about a month – maybe we can get some coffee & cheesecake😀

  2. Deneen August 12, 2008 at 8:59 am Reply

    Darn you-you hooked me up (literally) with some awesome patterns-aaargh-but thank you. The sock pattern looks really neat and I can’t wait to try. I am so making that sweater for Elena.

    Thanks Tiff!

  3. LizAndrsn August 12, 2008 at 9:23 am Reply

    Fear not the altitude sickness. Even long time residents experience it when traveling from the lower level plains upward.

    LionBrand gave you a shout out in today’s post. Congrats!

  4. Fay August 13, 2008 at 9:47 pm Reply

    I Do like that Madeline Tosh sock yarn, where did you get it that Frida is the pretty color I ever saw. The origami sock pattern looks like it might be fun. but I Knit them in the round and I think I like it better that way. The sweater is definitly cute. thing is whose daughter do I kidnap for an excuse to make it? I am afraid my daughter is grown. I dont do so well with crochet. I can do basic stitches and that is about it. Is that crocheted ribbing on that or knit? I cant quite tell.
    Fay

  5. Debbie August 30, 2008 at 3:50 pm Reply

    Hello! I ran across the cute vest/jacket made for Vanna’s daughter can someone tell me where I can get the pattern?
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

