Giovanna’s cardi for Maddie

On Saturday afternoon, while washing the girls’ clothes so that they would have everything available to choose from for first day of school clothes, Maddie picked out her favorite sundress.  The problem is, sundresses with spaghetti straps are not allowed at school by themselves.  I looked at her Giovanna’s Cardi in progress sitting on my side table and promised her that I would have it finished by Monday morning so that she could wear it over her dress to make it school acceptable.

Guess what time I finished her cardigan?   Midnight, baby!  Seven hours before it was needed.  I did work on it Saturday evening after the girls’ bedtime, but Sunday we ended up spending most of the afternoon at a friend’s house for the fantasy football draft.  I didn’t get a chance to pick it up again until the girls were in bed Sunday night while Andy and I were watching There Will be Blood.  Here she is, looking ready for first grade in her freshly made cardigan (she posed like this immediately – she says she’s getting ready for her future rock star photos):

Maddie's cardi

Maddie's cardi

Laura looked wonderful for her first day of third grade, even though she would not wear her cardi because that would mean matching her sister.  She said that the day just flew by and she was sad to leave.  This should be an exciting year for her.

first day of school for Laura

first day of school for Laura

Now I have to finish a skirt that I’m designing in girl sizes, and finish a pattern for a new headband design.  I made it on a whim while at the beach two months back and decifering what I did and how is causing my head to spin.  Have a wonderful day!

One thought on “Giovanna’s cardi for Maddie

  1. Deborah Bourque August 28, 2008 at 4:32 am Reply

    Both girls look so nice for the first day. I love the cardigan and it is a perfect color match for the sun dress. What did you think of the movie?

Leave a Reply

