The Battle of Bikini Bottom

A few weekends ago, the girls and I took advantage of a mini-holiday from school to visit my mom in Houston. On Saturday, we spent the afternoon at the San Jacinto Battleground, the site where the Texians defeated Santa Anna’s army, winning their independence. I grew up a few miles from the site and since they’ve recently renovated the Monument and museum, so I was excited to see the updates.  It was not much different than I remembered, but it was fun to take the girls for the first time.

While there, I mentioned to the girls that this summer while in Montana, we will go to the Little Bighorn Battlefield to see the reinactment of Custer’s Last Stand.  The history teacher in me started explaining what a reinactment was, what a battlefield is, etc.  Laura stops me.  Here is the conversation that followed:

Laura:  “I know what a reinactment is, Mom.”

Me:  “You do?  Did you learn about it in school?”

Laura: “No, on Spongebob.”

Me: Pause.  “Spongebob?”

Laura: “Yes, it was The Battle of Bikini Bottom.”

How does one follow up on that?

Anyhoo, I’m off to make a few flower ear muffs.  A friend gave my grandmother a set while at a chilly bluegrass music festival this winter so I’m going to attempt to make 17 pairs for the girls in my troop for Valentine’s Day.  We shall see how well that goal holds up.

Leave a Reply

