Sewing pretty

My mother-in-law very generously gifted our household with a new sewing machine over the Christmas holidays. It’s a beautiful Janome Magnolia and I love it dearly. I made a quick cover for our newest addition as my first project of the New Year. First, I have to show off Maggie. What do you think?

Maggie

I started with a charm pack of 5 1/2″ squares, sewing the pieces together in a 3 x 5 pattern.

Sewing the squares together

I chose a coordinating fabric for the border and the back.

Sewing the border

After sewing the front and back pieces together, I attached a decorative ribbon on the side to tie the pieces together and provide a little extra touch.

Maggie's cover

A look from the side

One thought on “Sewing pretty

  1. Autumn January 14, 2010 at 8:58 pm Reply

    What a great gift! I’ve been making do with an old machine of my mother-in-law’s that the husband rescued from an old storage barn. (She bought it used from the home-ec department at good ole’ SGHS!) It makes a stitch, but I’d love to have all the bells and whistles the newer machines have! Happy crafting!

Leave a Reply

