Why I Crochet (and why you should too)

(Knitting and Crochet Blog Week Day 1)

Why do I crochet? Until a friend asked me to teach her to crochet a few months ago, I had not made anything nor had the desire to pick up a crochet hook in months. My life had become too busy. I told myself that I wasn’t stressed, but I could hear it in my voice when my children asked me a question on a particularly busy day. I could feel it in my attitude towards my husband when he came home at the end of the day. I am beyond grateful for my friend for renewing my love for something that I had taken for granted.

I crochet because I can see something come to life before me, whether it’s a simple dishcloth or an intricate lace doily. I love seeing the endless possibilities that live inside a simple ball of yarn.

 

I picked up this ball of Caron Simply Soft Paints today because I loved the color and thought it would make a great batch of crochet eggs for Easter. On the other hand, I could use it to make a Brownie hat for Laura. She has quite a collection of hats and quite a collection of plaid shorts. I just bought her a new pair of shorts that would look great with something from this yarn. I found a cute bunny pattern that would look beautiful in this colorway also. Needless to say, I could make practically anything from this yarn, with the right pattern or the right imagination to create a pattern. I crochet because of the endless possibilities.

I also crochet for the peace of mind that comes over me while I’m sitting in a comfy chair with hook and yarn in hand. Since I started crocheting again a few months ago, I feel a little bit better. I’m less likely to snap at one of the girls and I’m definitely enjoying the company of my husband more. Are these changes directly related to crocheting? Who knows. I feel as if it has made a slight difference in my daily countenance. (I checked the definition of countenance on merriam-webster.com and my use of the word is defined as “archaic”. It may be archaic but Jane Austen would be proud.)

Last night, I spent hours working on a baby blanket. I loved watching the hearts come into being. Once I stopped, I could not believe how much I’d accomplished in what seemed like so little time. It’s a very pretty purple and almost makes me wish we were having another baby. This blanket has a home with a future baby, yet to be determined. It will go to my church crochet group and will be full of prayers and good wishes.

Through crochet, I have meet countless people who also love the art. I have rarely, if ever, been treated negatively for crocheting. In fact, on the times that I’m crocheting in public and someone does comment on what I’m doing, I’m approached more often by someone who has recently learned to crochet or has fond memories of a family member who crocheted. I love having that moment of connection with a stranger. I can sit with people of any age or race or gender who are crocheting and feel a connection. I am a very shy person. Feeling comfortable around strangers is not something that comes easy to me. Crochet helps me overcome some of that shyness. (I will say that I will not approach others who are crocheting or knitting. It’s the shy thing.)

Why should you start crocheting? I could name any sort of reason here but ultimately, you must learn how to crochet for your own personal reasons. Maybe you’d like to donate hats or baby blankets to a charity, dog and cat blankets to a local shelter, your best friend is having a baby, YOU’RE having a baby. What brings you to crochet will not be the same thing that keeps you crocheting or what brings you back from a long break. Either way, pick up a hook, buy yarn that makes you think of endless possibilities, and get to work. It will be worth it.

 

Tagged: ,

One thought on “Why I Crochet (and why you should too)

  1. Deneen April 1, 2011 at 3:46 am Reply

    Good post, new blog?

Leave a Reply

