Crochet or read? The ultimate struggle

As you can see from the contents of my purse in the quick shot below from my iPod touch, I struggle with choosing between reading and crocheting. If it’s a good book and I have a finite amount of time, the book always wins. Why?

20110329-062519.jpg

Are the benefits to reading greater than the benefits to crocheting? Maybe. Maybe not. I think both offer a great benefit to my well being. Is that not what ultimately matters? I think that I can escape from my surroundings easier through a book. If I’m caught up in my reading, no one will talk to me (the whole shy thing). If I’m crocheting, someone might talk to me.

Right now, I’m working on a baby blanket. I’m not expecting a baby but I’ve been asked a few times if I’m pregnant. That just gives me nightmares. I’m perfectly content being the mother of two beautiful girls. I love explaining why I’m making a baby blanket (We, as a church small group, are making blankets to support new mothers both within our church and the surrounding community), but perhaps the conversation goes on longer than the other person really intended. Once I start talking, I do have a hard time stopping.

As far as books, I just started reading Jane Slayre by Sherri Erwin. I love the original and I love thinking about what Jane would do if she were raised by Vampyres. It’s not necessarily a page turner yet for me, but it could be soon. A few years ago, I’d suspect more eye rolls at the title of my book than comments, but in the age of Twilight, we’ll see.

Ever the mediator, I found myself tonight while out at drum lessons and ballet lessons doing a little reading and a little crochet. Two locations call for honoring two loves, right? Basically, I will always struggle with choosing between a good book and a crochet project. For the record, Monday night when I blissfully completed hours of crochet, I had Jane Slayre in my possession and had yet to read a page. Crochet won. Let’s home it wins again tonight.

 

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Crochet or read? The ultimate struggle

  1. Deneen April 1, 2011 at 3:45 am Reply

    I am also torn between the two and for ages I hadn’t been reading, now I am on a reading kick-please let me know how the book is, I’ve read all but the last Twilight Books and I really like MaryJanice Davidson’s Undead series (as well as the Werewolf ones, and really liked the Mermaid ones, but she is done with that series.) The latest one I read “Undead and Unfinished” was just so-so, but I see she has a contract for another this summer and one in 2012-hope they’re better.

Leave a Reply

