Something to Aspire to… 2KCBWDAY6

(I know it’s a few days late, but it was a super busy weekend with the family.)

I aspire to develop the patience to make afghans. I have made afghans in the past, but I want to make them for loved ones. It takes a lot of yarn and a lot of time to crochet an afghan. I have been extremely selfish with my two completed afghans. (Don’t think about touching my afghans if you’re cold at my house. I’ve got plenty of other blankets for you to choose from.) I would love to surprise my mom or grandmother with an afghan for Christmas. They last forever. I love going to my grandparents’  house and cuddling under the red and white afghan crocheted by my late great grandmother. I can feel like she’s there next to me.

Much like a quilt, a well made afghan can be a treasured family heirloom. It doesn’t take fancy yarn. In fact, I would prefer an afghan from acrylic so that I know it will have the versatility to withstand the tests of time and multiple washes.

With a quick search for free afghan patterns on Ravelry, here are a few that inspire me to take on the time and challenge:

  • Lenox Throw – Very flowery, very girlie, and very much my mom. I would need to make it with at least one shade of purple
  • Spiders and Cobwebs Throw – lacy and perfect for my grandmother.
  • Woodland Circle – makes me dream of a cold winter night by the fire
  • Patchwork Persuasion – this looks like it would take a lot of time and effort and would probably make me never want to crochet an afghan  again for as long as I live, but I think I would be willing to take on the challenge.

What inspires you?

Tagged:

One thought on “Something to Aspire to… 2KCBWDAY6

  1. Autumn June 3, 2011 at 3:18 am Reply

    I love afghans. My mother crocheted them for my kids, and we always had one on the back of our couch growing up. (The awesome gold, orange and brown chevron pattern circa That 70’s show…only it was the real 70’s!) Good luck with them!

Leave a Reply

