I Ate Pie for Dinner (don’t tell my husband)

I woke up this morning with pie on the mind. Pie is often on my mind, to be honest. Have you ever wanted a good piece of pie after dinner?  It happens to me all. the. time. I’m not alone. My husband feels the same so I’m quite convinced there’s something in our home that makes us crave pie, like we’re haunted by the ghost of Sarah Lee or something.  Do you know how often we actually eat pie? Once every six months.  I don’t exactly keep pie making materials close at hand and places that serve pie on random weeknights are on the other side of town and talk about feeling guilty! Driving an hour for pie?? That would be the two of us.

Today I caved and made this glorious pie crust.

I did not destroy the crust!!!!!

Here’s a look from another direction. (This is making you want pie too, isn’t it??)  I have in the past made a great tasting pie crust, but one that looks completely horrid.

I’m feeling a little Martha-ish. I made the finger flutie things!

The weather is just taunting us with fall here in Texas. It will get here, but at its own pace. To help get into that fall spirit, I made a pumpkin pie. I really like that pumpkin pies do not require a pre-baked pie crust. That terrifies me. Why? I don’t know. What if it burns?!?!? Here’s a close up of the finished, non-burned pie.

Pie rules. So much better than cupcakes.

Only one of my girls love pie. If the other didn’t look so much like me, I’d be convinced she was switched at birth and my pie-loving daughter was out there somewhere dreaming of a mom who bakes her pies.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

