Making Changes

I’m trying to make a few changes to our daily lives, making a concerted effort to reduce spending, simplify what I can, and live a fuller life. It’s not an easy path, but one that I think is necessary. My goal for the next twelve months is to start making small changes and track our progress, through the highs and lows, over that time. I don’t believe it’s going to be easy, but I know that it will be worth it. I shouldn’t regret that tomorrow is Monday, you know?

Short Term Food Goals

  • Begin to reduce the amount of processed foods we consume. Our refrigerator is where condiments go to die. I’m not saying I’ll be making my own mayonnaise any time soon, but I would like to reduce the amount of goods purchased out of convenience by making the better equivalent on my own.
  • Cut back on eating out. This includes trips to Sonic for Happy Hour drinks, dinners out when I’m too tired to cook, and celebrating random events as an excuse to eat out. I won’t set an arbitrary goal for this, but will track the amount we do eat out to be accountable for change.
  • Make better use of coupons.  I will not ever be a coupon maven, but I can make sure I take the ones I collect to the store instead of letting them collect dust and expire!
  • Meal planning is a must! Utilize all of those amazing printables I’ve found online, make a weekly plan and stick to it!

Short Term Household Goals

  • Reduce spending on splurge items. This is not a huge problem in our home, but I do want to reduce the amount of items I pick up on clearance. Just because it’s marked down does not mean that we NEED it in our home.
  • Switch over to mostly natural cleaning products. I know I won’t ever go completely natural, but find DIY alternatives when cleaning products run out.
  • Finish de-cluttering our bedrooms and bathrooms. The rest of the house is in pretty decent shape and I want to stop stuffing things into the bedrooms because they haven’t been organized yet!

Short Term Personal Goals

  • Make it to the gym three days a week. Start there and see where it goes.
  • Find something fun to do with my time. I volunteer. A lot. I need to return a little of my focus to myself and my family.
  • Read more, write more, crochet more. See the note above.
  • Do something once a month as a family in the community. Go the museum, a festival, or something similar that is free or very reasonably priced.

 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

